Queensland Racing Minister Grace Grace insists the process of determining the future make-up of the Racing Queensland board is under control, despite an April 30 deadline looming on the terms of all seven directors.

Queensland Racing Minister Grace Grace
Queensland Racing Minister Grace Grace (right) is in the process of considering future Racing Queensland board appointments. (Photo: Facebook)

The remarkable and highly unusual situation will see Grace having to confront all seven directors’ terms ending concurrently, less than six months out from a state election.

Under the Racing Act 2002, the Governor in Council, usually advised by the Racing Minister,  must appoint or re-appoint members with a term of no more than three years, with four directors to be ‘non-industry’ members and three categorised as a member of the racing industry.

The three-year terms of four directors, Jodie Jones, Dale Cartwright, Graham Quirk and Sharon Dawson are up as of April 30, but so too are those of chairman Steven Wilson, Christopher Edwards and Jane Seawright, despite it being less than three years since that trio was appointed or re-appointed.

This post is for our free members

Thanks for your interest in The Straight. It looks like you are trying to access a free members article via an in-app browser on X, Facebook or LinkedIn. For the best experience, and instant access, sign on via the Social Sign In links below. You should only need to do this once.

If you wish to access or create an email-based account, please provide your email below. You will receive a link to click by email which will then open in your device’s native browser.

One moment...
Please check your email to confirm your subscription!
Something went wrong. Please try again.